Call (832) 390-2644

9 Exempt Categories – The Freedom of Information Act

The United States Department of State provides nine categories of information that government agencies may withhold:

  • classified information for national defense or foreign policy
  • internal personnel rules and practices
  • information that is exempt under other laws
  • trade secrets and confidential business information
  • inter-agency or intra-agency memoranda or letters that are protected by legal privileges
  • personnel and medical files
  • law enforcement records or information
  • information concerning bank supervision
  • geological and geophysical information


The Freedom of Information Act: U.S. Department of State – Freedom of Information Act

Back to News
FacebookTwitterLinkedInInstagramnotfoundsearchiconowdtcontactmap contact2map2